The missing carrots

I discovered this healthy white sauce pasta with mixed veggies recipe a few days ago. Basically, it’s the nutritious version of our carbonara because it has vegetables instead of bacon. As I was preparing all the ingredients, I found out that my brother used all the carrots yesterday. I also realized that we don’t have flour for the sauce. Oh snap!

I was a bit disappointed because I want to make this cooking experience perfect or even to that basic level of meeting all ingredients needed as detailed in the recipe. I don’t know how but thankfully I was able to manage myself and be more positive that the recipe would be fine even without carrots and the flour. So I continued. Along these limitations, I decided to modify the recipe and be more creative. For example, I replaced carrots with Baguio beans, which I don’t know how long it was sitting in our ref. I also found a can of mushroom soup, basil, and chili powder after I raided our shelf.

It’s beyond my expectations that the result would be fine and even better than my other cooking (Disclaimer: This was according to my family so there’s no personal bias :))

Now that I think about this, I realized that I don’t need to have it all. I tend to fall in this trap that I need this particular thing or more of this thing to live a fruitful life. Yet it’s not far from true that we may have all the resources yet still fail to live out our purposes. So it’s not really about our resources and skills and strengths. For when the Lord intend to bless the work of our hands, surely there’s victory.

Isn’t it same with life? Our days might be numbered yet I believe we got all the days we need to do what we’re ought to do. God will supply all we need for us to carry out his purposes. He is in control and is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think.

I therefore conclude that we can finish well even if there are some carrots missing!

Leave a Reply

